Texas Vehicle Inspection And Registration Stickers Are Partnering Up!

bluebonnets along a Texas road

Resources

Inspection Questions

No. The inspection station will check the same elements that have previously been inspected. However, you will receive a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) in lieu of an inspection sticker.
Yes, you will owe the inspection station fee regardless of whether the vehicle passes or fails.

Vehicle inspection and registration renewal reminder letters are sent to motorists when a passing inspection record could not be found when the renewal notices were created. This letter is mailed the month before the expiration of vehicle registration, and serves as a reminder to get a passing inspection and renew your registration.

Once you have a passing inspection, you do not need a renewal notice to renew online or at your county tax office. Should you need a copy of your registration renewal notice to renew by mail or at an authorized renewal location such as a grocery store, you may request one from the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles by calling 1-888-DMV-GOTX (1-888-368-4689) after obtaining a passing inspection. Please note that eReminders are sent via email regardless of the inspection status of your vehicle.
No. As long as the passing inspection was obtained no earlier than 90 days before your registration expiration you will be able to renew.
No. A passing inspection is not required before permit issuance as permits are issued in lieu of registration. However, a passing inspection is required to drive the vehicle on Texas roads.
Yes. All commercial vehicles registered in Texas are required to have a Texas safety inspection.
Yes. Texas statute requires all commercial vehicles registered in Texas to maintain an annual safety inspection.
VIN errors are most common at inspection stations that manually record inspection results. While inspection stations should verify that the correct VIN is printed on a VIR, you are also encouraged to verify your VIN, before leaving the inspection station, in order to avoid any delays at the time of registration renewal. You can confirm the VIN printed on your VIR is correct by comparing it with the VIN listed on your Insurance card/Insurance policy which is required for inspection purposes, your Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice or Vehicle Inspection and Registration Renewal Reminder Letter.
Return to your inspection station and request a corrected report.
Please email the Department of Public Safety (DPS). Be sure to include the inspection station information, such as station name, station ID (if possible) and inspector. All complaints must be submitted in writing.

Registration

An example of a seasonal Texan is one who engages in RV traveling for a portion of the year. These individuals may title and register a vehicle in Texas provided they have a Texas address. Please refer to the Special Circumstances section on the Motorists page for detailed information on the renewal process for out of state motorists.
The registration process for those with Disabled Veteran license plates is the same as for motorists with general issue plates. If you currently pay a $3 annual plate fee, you will continue to pay the $3 plate fee and the state’s portion of the inspection fee if it is due.

Miscellaneous

You will need to have your motorcycle inspected no earlier than 90 days before your registration expires before you can renew it.
If your trailer is required to be inspected, you will need to have it inspected no earlier than 90 days before your registration expiration before you can renew it. You will follow the steps for inspecting and registering passenger vehicles outlined on our Motorists page. Trailers with a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) more than 4,500 pounds are required to pass an annual vehicle inspection. The sticker design has not changed.
Dealer plates are not assigned to a vehicle; therefore, inspection cannot be verified. Vehicles with dealer plates must still have a passing inspection when operated on public roadways or be subject to citation by law enforcement. As a best practice, dealers should maintain a copy of the VIR in a vehicle displaying dealer plates as proof of inspection.

Yes. webDEALER is equipped to help your dealership easily calculate all fees due at the time of registration and title, including the state’s portion of the inspection fee. webDEALER will electronically verify inspection, and also allow for a manual verification of inspection if needed.

It is important to note that although registration is contingent upon inspection, a vehicle’s inspection is not invalidated when a registration sticker is removed.

All subcontracting locations are able to process registration renewals if the inspection can be verified electronically; however, only some subcontractors are able to verify manually (using the VIR).
If you add weight to a truck or trailer/semi-trailer mid-registration period, inspection will not be verified as this is not issuance or renewal of registration.
No. A passing inspection is not required before permit issuance as permits are issued in lieu of registration.
As of March 1, 2015, vehicle inspection stations no longer collect the state’s portion of the inspection fee. At the time of inspection, you pay only the inspection station’s portion of the fee. The state’s portion of the inspection fee is collected at the time of registration or renewal.
Apportioned and Token Trailers are not affected by the requirements of HB 2305 also known as "Two Steps, One Sticker." These registration types will not participate in the Single Sticker program however, they will continue to obtain a Texas Inspection and pay the states portion of the inspection fee at time of registration. In lieu of the inspection sticker the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) is required to be in the unit as proof of inspection.
Inspection Type Counties State Portion
One-Year Safety Counties except the emission counties listed below and vehicles 25 years and older $7.50
Safety-only (vehicles 25 years or older) Statewide $7.50
Two-Year Safety (new vehicles) Statewide $16.75
Commercial Statewide $22.00
Trailer/Motorcycle Statewide $7.50
Safety Emissions (TSI/OBD) El Paso $8.25
Safety Emissions (TSI/OBD) Travis, Williamson $10.25
Emission (ASM) for vehicles model-year 1995 and older Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant $8.25
Emission (OBD) for vehicles model-year 1996 and newer Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant $14.25
Emission-Test Only El Paso $2.75
Emission-Test Only Travis, Williamson $2.75
Emission-Test Only Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant $2.75

To view downloadable PDF files requires a separate application. Download and install Adobe Reader.

90-Day Inspection Calendar English

90-Day Inspection Calendar

English

Download