For commercial vehicles subject to the requirements of 49 CFR part 396, there will be no inspection certificate issued, and the registration receipt or cab card does not represent that a valid inspection has been performed on the vehicle within the previous 12 months.
When a commercial vehicle passes its annual inspection, a Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) will be provided that identifies the vehicle and includes a statement, signed by the Inspector, that the inspection conformed to the requirements of 49 CFR part 396. This VIR, or a copy of the VIR, must be presented during a roadside inspection or traffic stop to show compliance with state and federal law. There is no grace period for commercial vehicle inspection or registrations. House Bill 2305 does not provide relief from the requirements of part 396 or state law.
Texas inspection fees have not changed, and you will pay the inspection station its portion of the fee at the time of inspection and the state’s portion of the fee will be collected at the time of registration.
|Inspection Type||Counties||State Portion|
|One-Year Safety||Counties except the emission counties listed below and vehicles 25 years and older||$7.50|
|Safety-only (vehicles 25 years or older)||Statewide||$7.50|
|Two-Year Safety (new vehicles)||Statewide||$16.75|
|Safety Emissions (TSI/OBD)||El Paso||$8.25|
|Safety Emissions (TSI/OBD)||Travis, Williamson||$10.25|
|Emission (ASM) for vehicles model-year 1995 and older||Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant||$8.25|
|Emission (OBD) for vehicles model-year 1996 and newer||Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant||$14.25|
|Emission-Test Only||El Paso||$2.75|
|Emission-Test Only||Travis, Williamson||$4.75|
|Emission-Test Only||Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant||$2.75|
|Emission-Test Only (OBD) for vehicles model-year 1996 and newer||$8.75|
Vehicles with a Non-Commercial Inspection
Beginning March 1, 2016, vehicles that receive a non-commercial vehicle inspection must pass an inspection no earlier than 90 days of registration expiration. At the time of inspection, the inspection station will update the state’s inspection database and provide carriers with a printed VIR.
When a carrier renews a vehicle registration in person, by mail, or online, the state inspection database will be searched to determine if the vehicle has a passing vehicle inspection.
If the inspection cannot be verified electronically, a VIR must be presented as proof of inspection, unless the vehicle is self-certified as being out of state.
Registered in Texas but Operating Out of State
If a vehicle is out of state and unable to obtain a Texas vehicle inspection, you may self-certify that the vehicle is out of state and will be permitted to renew.
If you renew your vehicle registration using the out of state self-certification option, a remark will be placed on your vehicle record indicating that an inspection is still due. Once you return to the state, you must complete a Texas vehicle inspection. It is very important that you keep the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) in the vehicle in case you are stopped by law enforcement before the remark is removed from your vehicle’s record, which takes about 48 hours. The remark will be removed only upon payment of the state’s portion of the inspection fee and verification of a passing inspection.
Apportioned and Token Trailers
Texas inspections of Apportioned and Token Trailers are not required to be verified under "Two Steps, One Sticker." However, after obtaining a Texas inspection, the state portion of the inspection fee will be collected at time of initial registration or renewal. In lieu of the inspection sticker, the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) is required to be in the unit as proof of inspection.
Trailer Inspection Requirements
Certain trailers require an inspection prior to registration. If your trailer has a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) that is more than 7,500 pounds, an inspection is required. This includes trailers, semitrailers, boat trailers, pole trailers, mobile homes, and travel trailers. Note: Farm trailers displaying a farm license plate are not required to be inspected. If you are unsure about the gross vehicle weight of your trailer, check your registration receipt for the weight. For more information about the specific inspection requirements, please visit the DPS website or contact your nearest DPS regional headquarters.
Vehicles Exempt from Inspection Requirements
If your vehicle does not currently require an annual inspection, it does not require an inspection for purposes of registration now that the program has gone into effect. For information regarding whether your vehicle is subject to state inspection requirements, please visit the DPS website or contact your nearest DPS regional headquarters.