Multi-Year Intrastate Fleet Vehicles are no longer issued an inspection sticker and your cab card or registration receipt serves as proof of inspection and registration.
How It Works: Do the Two Step
Follow the moves for “Two Steps, One Sticker”:
- Step 1: Pass a vehicle inspection within 90 days of registration expiration and keep your Vehicle Inspection Report.
- Step 2: After your vehicle passes inspection, renew your registration and your inspection status will be verified electronically.
Texas inspection fees have not changed. You pay the inspection station its portion of the fee at the time of inspection and the state’s portion of the fee is collected at the time of registration.
|Inspection Type||Counties||State Portion|
|One-Year Safety||Counties except the emission counties listed below and vehicles 25 years and older||$7.50|
|Safety-only (vehicles 25 years or older)||Statewide||$7.50|
|Two-Year Safety (new vehicles)||Statewide||$16.75|
|Safety Emissions (TSI/OBD)||El Paso||$8.25|
|Safety Emissions (TSI/OBD)||Travis, Williamson||$10.25|
|Emission (ASM) for vehicles model-year 1995 and older||Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant||$8.25|
|Emission (OBD) for vehicles model-year 1996 and newer||Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant||$14.25|
|Emission-Test Only||El Paso||$2.75|
|Emission-Test Only||Travis, Williamson||$4.75|
|Emission-Test Only||Brazoria, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Montgomery, Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Johnson, Kaufman, Parker, Rockwall and Tarrant||$2.75|
|Emission-Test Only (OBD) for vehicles model-year 1996 and newer||$8.75|
Registered in Texas but Operating Out of State
If a vehicle is out of state and unable to obtain a Texas vehicle inspection, you may self-certify that the vehicle is out of state.
If you use the out of state self-certification option, a remark will be placed on your vehicle record indicating that an inspection is still due. Once you return to the state, you must complete a Texas vehicle inspection in accordance with state law. It is very important that you keep the Vehicle Inspection Report (VIR) in the vehicle in case you are stopped by law enforcement before the remark is removed from your vehicle record, which takes about 48 hours. The remark will be removed only upon payment of the state’s portion of the inspection fee and verification of a passing inspection.
Multi-Year Intrastate Fleet
Multi-Year Intrastate Fleet registrants will receive inspection verification letters prior to the anniversary month of the registration, reminding them to comply with the Texas vehicle inspection requirements and instructing them to pay the state’s portion of the inspection fee. If you currently have Multi-Year Intrastate Fleet registration, it will remain valid until it expires, unless it is cancelled.
If compliance with the inspection requirements cannot be verified and payment is not received by the last day of the anniversary month of the registration, the registration will be cancelled. Registration will only be reinstated once compliance with the inspection requirements can be verified and payment is received.
Trailer Inspection Requirements
Certain trailers require an inspection prior to registration. If your trailer has a Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) that is more than 7,500 pounds, an inspection is required. This includes trailers, semitrailers, boat trailers, pole trailers, mobile homes, and travel trailers. Note: Farm trailers displaying a farm license plate are not required to be inspected. If you are unsure about the gross vehicle weight of your trailer, check your registration receipt for the weight. For more information about the specific inspection requirements, please visit the DPS website or contact your nearest DPS regional headquarters.
Vehicles Exempt from Inspection Requirements
If your vehicle does not currently require an annual inspection, it does not require an inspection for purposes of registration now that the program has gone into effect. For information regarding whether your vehicle is subject to state inspection requirements, please visit the DPS website or contact your nearest DPS regional headquarters.